sarah



Ahhh best day ever

Yesterday I basically figured out my life. Since I’ve been in ID, I’ve wanted to design medical devices. I quickly learned I couldn’t just do that with an ID undergrad/grad. I went to talk to the biomedical engineering advisor because I wanted to somehow incorporate a minor or certificate or even double major into my degree. I got a little discouraged while talking to him because he kept mentioning I only had to take 12 hours for a minor, but all the classes had prereqs. It sounded like it would take at least a year. But I could do it. He then said ‘Hey, why don’t you have a talk with this guy on the third floor? He likes incorporating design into the courses he teaches in this department, and you guys might have a lot in common.’ So I went up and he happened to be available. He talked to me about the courses he’s teaching, one being the biomed senior design course. He says they solve a problem by developing a product, testing and prototyping them and everything. Then he pulled out this huge binder and said ‘I’m also starting a master’s program here in 2010 called Biomed and Design.’ I about kissed the man. I can’t believe they’re about to offer exactly what I’ve been looking for for two years right here at Tech. From what I’d seen on the website you could only do a biomed masters if you had an engineering or sciences undergrad, and he pretty much said no I specifically want ID undergrads. Turns out he graduated ID from NC State and has worked at all these medical companies designing products for them. SO exciting! It’s just this huge weight lifted off of my shoulders.

Now I just need to get in the program… nbd.

Also I got a 94 on my materials test! I don’t know how that happened.

Aaand the hair salon is coming along nicely, we’ve got basically everything figured out minus a couple dimensions here and there.

-Sarah


Leave a comment