sarah



finalizing sketches

This morning was a little sluggish. We sat down and went through all of our sketches and narrowed them down.

I think we’ve got a pretty good direction. I’m going to be finalizing the sketches that deal with our overall salon layout. We think it’d be a great idea to lay the mirrors out consecutively so there’s a mirror in front and behind the customer. My two concepts are based on that layout being pushed up against a wall and the other standing freely in the middle of the room. If the mirrors were perpendicular up against a wall then there’s opportunity for better visibility for the customer, and more storage and outlet options for the stylist. The free standing mirrors along the length of a salon allow for more walking space for the stylist, and a more open environment in general.

I’ll also be working on the rolling storage. At Aveda they said the rolling tray was their best friend, so I think making everything moveable is an important element. Most of my changes are customer-oriented, so I’ll have to go back and see how I can fit the stylists’ role more.

Also I’ll be making some sweet study models for this so watch out.

-Sarah


Leave a comment